Talent. Tenacity. Total Dedication To Your Rights.
The Challenge Of A Suspended Driver’s License
If you receive a notice of suspension of your driver’s license in Alabama, you have only 10 days to request a hearing to challenge the suspension. The court is then required to schedule your hearing within 30 days. This gives you very little time to prepare. Regardless of the reason your license was suspended, a hearing is your best chance to get your license back.
Alabama has no occupational restricted or “hardship” license that would allow you to drive only to specified locations like work or school. When your license is revoked in Alabama, your driving privileges are completely rescinded for a minimum of six months. That means six months of figuring out how to get to and from work and the grocery store and go about your daily life without a vehicle.
Situations Resulting In A License Suspension Or Revocation
The state may suspend your license for both driving-related reasons and reasons not related to driving. The most common driving-related reasons for the suspension of a driver’s license include:
- DUI arrests
- Refusing a sobriety test
- Racking up 12 points against your license in a two-year period
Common reasons for the suspension of a driver’s license not related to driving include:
- Unpaid court judgments
- Failure to appear in court
- The vehicle does not have liability insurance
- The vehicle was used in a felony
- Failure to stop after an accident resulting in an injury or death
If your license was suspended or revoked, you must turn it in to the Director of Public Safety. Failing to do so is a misdemeanor. Driving with a suspended or revoked license is also a misdemeanor that may result in up to 180 days in jail and fines that can reach up to $500.
Fighting Your Driver’s License Suspension Case
If you’ve had your license revoked or suspended, I can help you submit a request for a hearing and represent you at the hearing. I’ll review your situation with you and make sure you file the appropriate challenges to get your penalties reduced and possibly get your license returned.
Remember that you have ONLY 10 DAYS from the time of arrest to request a judicial review. It’s critical to act quickly.